← Guides

Slack vs Microsoft Teams vs Google Workspace for team chat

Comparing three common ways small teams chat and meet, with the pricing facts we could verify and the questions to ask.

Desk research from official provider pages, updated 2026-10-11. Not hands-on tested. No supplier paid for or reviewed this content. Plans and prices change — confirm with each provider.

What we could verify

Slack’s page (served in euros to our checker) showed a free plan with 90 days of message history, and Pro and Business+ per-user prices with cheaper annual billing.

Google Workspace’s page (served in US dollars) listed Business Starter, Standard and Plus per-user prices excluding tax, with a saving for a one-year commitment.

Microsoft Teams business pricing was not captured by our automated check.

How to decide

If you already pay for Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace, start by checking what chat and meetings are already included. Choose a separate chat tool when its integrations or ways of working are worth the extra cost.

Tools mentioned

  • Slack
    • Pro: €6.75 per user/month, billed annually (€8.25 billed monthly)
    • Business+: €15.00 per user/month, billed annually (€18.00 billed monthly)

    Shown in EUR as served — not converted. VAT not stated · Free plan: yes · Source, checked 2026-10-11

    Free plan keeps 90 days of message history.

    An introductory discount was shown; the estimator uses the standard price.

  • Microsoft Teams

    Price not verified. Check the provider’s pricing page.

  • Google Workspace
    • Business Starter: £5.90 per user/month, billed annually (£7.00 billed monthly)
    • Business Standard: £11.80 per user/month, billed annually (£14.00 billed monthly)
    • Business Plus: £18.40 per user/month, billed annually (£22.00 billed monthly)

    VAT not stated · Free plan: no · Source, checked 2026-10-11

    GBP prices per user per month from Google’s official plan comparison table: Annual/Fixed-Term Plan (1-year commitment, paid monthly or yearly) £5.90 / £11.80 / £18.40; Flexible Plan (no commitment, billed monthly) £7 / £14 / £22.

    “Annual” here means a 12-month commitment, not a different monthly rate you can cancel.

    The table does not say whether GBP prices include VAT.

Switching checklist

  • List the apps you need chat to connect to
  • Check message history limits on free plans
  • Confirm guest access for clients or contractors
  • Confirm sterling prices and VAT

Sources